Skip to main content

We are a volunteer-powered organization which thrives on the generosity of hundreds of volunteers focused on improving the quality of life for not only survivors, but our community.  Our leadership team shares their time, talents and influence selflessly which is critical to the success of the organization and the survivors we serve. 

We continue to grow by the outpouring of business and organization support, a pay-it-forward spirit and the belief that supporting local survivors builds stronger families and creates a stronger community.

Board of Directors

Cynthia L. Sturgeon | President and Founder – 12 Year Thriver
Executive Consultant | B. S. Information Systems, University of Texas at Arlington, PMP Certification

Dave Sturgeon | Vice President
Retired Assistant Vice President Information Technology, BNSF Railway | University of Nebraska-Omaha

Malinda Jepsen | Secretary; Vice President Technology
Business Intelligence Specialist, Orion Advisor Services | B.A. Math, Dana College

Jack Round | Treasurer
CFO, Aksarben Foundation | Certified Public Accountant, Certified Management Accountant, MBA, Creighton University

Haley Armstrong | Board of Directors
Patient & Community Engagement Liaison, Nebraska Medicine | B.J.M.C in Advertising, University of Nebraska at Lincoln | Masters in Marketing, Bellevue University | certification in Fundraising Management, University of Nebraska at Omaha

Tiffany Floro | Board of Directors
Registered Nurse, Boys Town National Research Hospital | ADN, Methodist College of Nursing 

Ann Friedrichsen | Board of Directors
Instructional Facilitator, Omaha Public Schools | BS Elementary Ed., University of Nebraska at Lincoln | Master of Arts in Leadership in Teaching & Learning, Midland University | 4 Year Thriver

Clay Hoberman, DO | Board of Directors
Medical Director, St. Croix Hospice. Hospice & Palliative Medicine | DO, Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine | BA, Middlebury College

Scott Leak, CFP® | Board of Directors
Director-Institutional Sales, TD Ameritrade | B.A. Psychology, Creighton University

Shawn McCarville | Board of Directors
Business Development Specialist, Amplified Image Marketing | B.S. Marketing, Northwest Missouri State University




Executive Advisory Council

Kathy Bressler, RN MN | Senior Vice President, CHI Health

Bob Cronin | Executive Vice President Product, D3 Banking, ICAN Executive

Peg Johnson | Executive Vice President, Client Success, i2c Inc.

Brian Moen | Chief Marketing & Merchandise Officer, Oriental Trading Company

Stephanie Nichols, PHR, SHRM-CP | Senior Strategic Account Executive, United Healthcare

Dave Proksel | Nebraska Operations Manager, Vice President & Underwriting Counsel, First American Title Insurance Company

Jaime Rorie | CPA Manager, Hancock & Dana PC

Ryan Swartz MBA, CFP | Managing Director, Creative Planning, Inc.

Cassandra Zywiec | Owner/Principle, Mission Maven Marketing

Powered by Firespring